Posted by: kscott08 | September 28, 2009

Crazy Things for Love

From reading Married to a Youth Pastor I was motivated to write about the fall retreat.

Two weekends ago we pulled together nearly 60 kids for a weekend at Grotonwood. We did a lot of different things but it can all be boiled down to: games, worship, jake teaching and small group conversations about life. On Saturday night we set up for a game we called Skittles. It’s similar to capture the flag but you need to fill your cup, which lies in enemy territory, with skittles. So, don’t get tagged or you lose your skittles. Tag others and you get their skittles. OH and yes we played it in the dark with only the lights from Jake’s car to keep everyone safe.

While Micah and I explained the game Jake donned bright blue bandanas completely covering his face topped with my sunglasses to conceal his eyes. From there I’m not even sure what he was doing. The picture below explains itself:
blue ninja

Well it didn’t end there. He stayed fully in his crazy blue ninja character for the entirety of the game. Galloping up and down the field to put skittles in his cup. Sometimes even carrying students with their hands full of skittles over his shoulder to have them deliver the skittles to their cup.

All of this for the love of students. To ignite passion for this crazy game of skittles was hardly his goal but to ignite passion in the leaders for loving and having fun with the students was what he accomplished.

blue ninja2

Responses

  1. very true. πŸ™‚ Blue Ninja will live in hearts and minds for a while. haha

  2. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, πŸ™‚

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Leave a Reply

Categories

